Why Older Women Should Date and Marry Younger Men

It leads to a much more equal partnership

Vicki Larson

--

He’s young, she’s old. Can this marriage last?

Kick Ass actor Aaron Taylor-Johnson’s wife of 10 years, Fifty Shades of Grey director Sam Taylor-Johnson, is 24 years older than he is, and this appears to be a problem for many people.

He was 18 when they met, she was 42. They wed in 2013 and he admits the scrutiny was hard and still is, despite having two children together and raising her two daughters from a previous marriage:

“The attention was intrusive. But having to deal with that early in my career probably got me to a place where I can more quickly just go, ‘Oh, f*ck it’ instead of wanting to rip someone’s head off for asking questions I don’t like.”

Sam expresses similar frustrations, saying:

“If I gave a second thought to other people, I would be the unhappiest person, probably still in a miserable marriage. People like to talk about it. I’m like, ‘Yeah, but it works better than my last marriage.’ It’s lasted longer than a lot of my friends’ marriages.”

I’d never heard of the couple but stumbled upon them when two men questioned a quote from a recent column I wrote on why many older women don’t want to live with their boyfriends — “I…

--

--

Vicki Larson

Award-winning journalist, author of “Not Too Old For That" & "LATitude: How You Can Make a Live Apart Together Relationship Work, coauthor of “The New I Do,”